Huntsville DUI - Drunk Driving Attorneys
Alabama DUI Defense Lawyer
Are you facing a drunk driving charge in the state of Alabama? If so, you could be looking at serious consequences. These can include expensive fines, jail time, and even the loss of your driving privileges. Additionally, being convicted for a DUI could serve to jeopardize your future employment options as well as your ability to rent a home – and that’s true years down the road, long after you have completed the sentences handed down by the court. Luckily, however, you have the option of working with an experienced Alabama drunk driving lawyer from Johnston, Moore & Thompson. Our legal teams are second to none, and will work hard to ensure that you have the best chance possible of beating the charges in question while protecting your rights and your liberty.
Alabama DUI Defense
To be charged with drunk driving in Alabama, you must have a BAC of more than 0.08% or be under the influence to the point where you are no longer able to operate a vehicle safely. This means that you don’t technically need to fail that preliminary breathalyzer in order to be arrested. The officer has leeway here and can charge you with a DUI if they believe they have probable cause that you were driving under the influence – this is true even if you pass the breath test. Note that failing sobriety or speaking in a slurred manner can both serve as probable cause, allowing the officer to arrest you.
Please keep in mind that while roadside sobriety checks are voluntary, refusing to take one in the state of Alabama will automatically result in a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license. With that said, it is often easier and less expensive to have your license reinstated via the DMV than it is to handle a drunk driving conviction.
Roadside Sobriety and Breath Tests
Any evidence gathered by officers during a roadside sobriety or breath test can be used against you once you make your way to court. This can be tricky because the officer has the ultimate say in whether or not you fail them – and sometimes things like medical conditions, poor agility, and even simple difficulty understanding the test can lead you to fail. Additionally, passing these tests probably won’t do anything to help your legal situation whereas failing them will absolutely help worsen it.
Once at the station, you will be asked to take a secondary Datamaster breathalyzer test. Before doing so, it is advised that you reach out to an Alabama DUI lawyer so that they can tell you whether your best option is to submit to the test or not. Remember that a first-time conviction of drunk driving could land you in prison for as long as one year with fines up to $2100 – and that doesn’t include court fees or the costs of license reinstatement or alcohol rehabilitation courses.
If you have been arrested for DUI / drunk driving, reach out to the experienced criminal defense lawyers at Johnston, Moore & Thompson. Contact us to discuss your case and to set up a consultation.